What other types of eagles are native to the United States?

There are only two species of eagles that are native to the United States: the bald eagle and the golden eagle.

The bald eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) is the national bird of the United States. It is a large bird with a white head and tail and brown body. Bald eagles are found near large bodies of water, where they eat fish.

Bald Eagle Soaring – Image from ebird.org

The golden eagle (Aquila chrysaetos) is a larger bird than the bald eagle. It has a golden-brown body with a white head and tail. Golden eagles are found in a variety of habitats, including forests, mountains, and grasslands. They eat a variety of prey, including small mammals, birds, and reptiles.

Golden Eagle Soaring – Image from ebird.org

In addition to these two species, there are two other species of eagles that have been spotted in the United States on rare occasions:

The Steller’s sea eagle (Haliaeetus pelagicus) is a large eagle that is found in Alaska and Russia. It is the largest eagle in North America, with a wingspan of up to 8 feet. Steller’s sea eagles eat fish, seals, and other marine mammals.

Steller’s Sea Eagle Perched – Image from ebird.org

The white-tailed eagle (Haliaeetus albicilla) is a large eagle that is found in Europe and Asia. It is similar in appearance to the bald eagle, but it has a white tail and a black head. White-tailed eagles eat fish, waterfowl, and other small animals.

White Tailed Eagle Soaring – Image from ebird.org

All four of these species of eagles are protected under the Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act. This law prohibits the killing, harming, or disturbing of eagles. It also restricts the use of lead ammunition near eagles, as lead poisoning is a major threat to these birds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *